“My Pen Is My Placard”

A post by Judy: Favorite Quote: Day 2, who was bouncing off a quote by Emerson, struck a chord in me, the curious reader.  The writer in me responded with a connection from early years as an unknown poet in training.

I shared with Judy a memory of my younger self writing a poetic response to a bullying classmate. It was emotionally charging to look back and feel a familiar twinge of pain connected to a supposedly forgotten moment of creative anger. Yes, I did feel a sense of release afterwards and somewhat empowered in a prior powerless situation. No, I did not deliver my attempt at poetic justice to the perpetrator, but it was later published in my graduation year book.

Reflection can be a great teacher. Yesterday, I realized it was then, at moment in my life as a sensitive teen, that I had discovered the power of the word. Now in my later years, I can more fully appreciate the joy of writing and exploring my creative spirit.

About Olga

I have always had an affinity for artistic endeavors and the beauties of nature. The power of the word combined with photography have become my creative spark.
This entry was posted in Blogging 101, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “My Pen Is My Placard”

  1. lumar1298 says:

    I love the way we get our answers through our writing…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Olga says:

      So true. That reminds me of a quote concerning that everything we need to know is within us. It just has to be triggered to reveal itself. Wonderful comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

