Ronovan Writes Weekly Haiku Challenge #81: Trill and Final

 

Memories of Childhood

Child’s tongue vibrating

French trill finally mastered

Nun smiles approval

 

Memories of childhood triggered. A wee girl obsessed with practising her rolling R’s to make her teacher proud. Oral reading in French demands perfection and a mobile tongue. Success brought great praise.

 

About photos: That’s me!

Top-right: My teacher from grade 1-3 who happened to be a nun (at the back). I’m the second child in the right row. My mother came in to take the classroom shots. She always took photos, even when we had a mouthful of food.

Bottom-right: First communion in grade 1. I’m second from the right and my veil was annoying me. Still remember the wind blowing it in my face. Must have been traumatic. Ha ha! Sorry about the girl picking her nose.

Portrait: My school picture in grade 3. My hair had transformed from blonde to carrot-red. My eye color was no longer bright blue, but green. My family moved that year and I lost my French, but my tongue hasn’t forgotten how to trill.

(Thanks to Ron for the thrill of using the word ‘trill.’)

 

About Olga

I have always had an affinity for artistic endeavors and the beauties of nature. The power of the word combined with photography have become my creative spark.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Ronovan Writes Weekly Haiku Challenge #81: Trill and Final

  1. Special memories – thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Judy Martin says:

    Oh, this is lovely Olga. I am envious that you can roll your R’s, I never could! Great photos too πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Trisha says:

    Thank you for taking us to where “trill” takes you! It’s interesting how certain words can take us back in time. I’m also envious that you can trill your R’s. I never could either!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kim881 says:

    Now that’s one kind of trill I didn’t think of. A very personal memory, nicely written – and I enjoyed looking at your photographs.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love your photos. You were an adorable little girl! Your haiku is great and took me back to my childhood. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lena says:

    Naew… you are so cute! Great to se some childhood memories.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Denis1950 says:

    A wonderful childhood reflective haiku Olga. Scary memories of my sister’s catholic education though!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Olga says:

      Mine only lasted three years until I moved. I know… they could crack-the-whip those nuns. My older brother had a very traumatic time, unlike my experience. Maybe because I was young and cute. Ha ha!

      Like

  8. Denis1950 says:

    You were lucky Olga. Until the early 70’s cruelty was a common teaching strategy in Catholic schools in Australia. Currently we are progressing through a horrendous National Royal Commission on child abuse right across all facets of contact with children right up to the 80’s. Sadly the Catholic Church is high on the list of transgression.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    I love this post Olga!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Roz Hill says:

    Great take on trill theme, lovely fun filled post. Thanks for sharing! πŸ’šπŸ’›β€οΈπŸ’œπŸ’™

    Liked by 1 person

  11. jazzytower says:

    This one took me back to my childhood too after a few OMG πŸ™‚ As I was read your I was laughing about to girl picking her nose, lol. Only in childhood can you pick your nose and scratch your butt without causing a scene..I love this!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Janice says:

    Lovely pictures and haiku–a unique topic. The special gowns and veils took me back–dress-up wasn’t quite the same style but similar with filmy fabrics, layers, lace, headpieces, fancy smocks etc

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Linda Lee says:

    Hello, Olga! I love your precious pictures!

    Like

  14. This one comes straight from heart

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Suzanne says:

    What a wonderful trick of the tongue – I can’t roll my R’s. It must be fun to do that sometimes when the conversation gets a bit boring. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Meredith says:

    I love hearing about childhood. My father went on o Catholic school. He did say that the nuns were mean and strict. He wasn’t Catholic. I wonder how he did, too late to ask.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Olga says:

      Thanks for sharing, Meredith. I wasn’t Catholic either, but in a small community you don’t have a choice sometimes. I have some questions for my parents also, but in our later years, it is too late. Have a great week!

      Like

  17. Elizabeth says:

    Great photos Olga, you should be proud of them and of your mother to be careful taking and keeping them all these years.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. nearlywes says:

    For some reason this brings images to my mind of ‘Vacation Bible School’ when I was a kid. It was a summer program that my sister and I were sent to so we could learn the Bible like the back of our hands. It wasn’t the worst time, but it was always entertaining once you made it to the end of the “Vacation” and you could speak a slew of versus from memory. Only three lines, one haiku, has the ability to give me vivid memories. Obviously I enjoyed it haha πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Olga says:

      Wonderful! Thank-you Wes for sharing your memories. I wasn’t too sure about using personal photos, but it worked out well and I got a good reception. Have a great week!

      Like

Leave a Reply

