Ronovan Writes Weekly Haiku Challenge #107: Pie and Dust

Pie-eyed with pleasure

City’s splendour resounding

Yet blind to the dust

 

Pie-eyed with pleasure

City’s splendour resounding

Yet blind to the dust

(On a recent week-end trip to Ottawa, what struck me the most and reflected in this post, was the invisible dust of beggars on every street we walked. A sad sight to see while pleasure seekers ignored their humanity.)

Ron’s challenge

 

About Olga

I have always had an affinity for artistic endeavors and the beauties of nature. The power of the word combined with photography have become my creative spark.
This entry was posted in Photography, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Ronovan Writes Weekly Haiku Challenge #107: Pie and Dust

  1. I think sometimes people become immune to them. Living in NY it becomes part of the scenery. There are still many who feel for each one,

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Kay says:

    So sad, but so true! I think it can become easy for some to become immune to the suffering and even be judgemental about the situation and develop disdain.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Olga says:

      Yes. I experienced it with fresh eyes and the scene was worrying that in a country like Canada, this was so excessively obvious on the streets. The disparity was alarming!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Kay says:

    It’s similar in many places here in the States as well. It is very alarming!

    It’s lovely to meet you, Olga. I look forward to reading.

    Kay

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Janice says:

    Sad to hear that Ottawa has become
    as you describe…sounds like Toronto. Your haiku and images are fantastic …I was intrigued by the first one…I assumed it was one of your creations at home but now wonder if it is based on a place in Ottawa?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Olga says:

      That first image comes from a photo that I took in the lobby of a fancy hotel. My daughter and I had just gotten off the Rideau Canal cruise, missed a taxi and were hungry. We decided to treat ourselves on our last night there. It’s interesting that a comment was made that our attire was appropriate to be let in. Ottawa was full of unusual experiences.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Janice says:

        I hope their food was appropriate 😉 you created great images with your lobby shots. I always find the question of street people troubling… I guess it is as many other problems: difficult to solve, yet easier to discuss (privilege guilt).

        Liked by 1 person

        • Olga says:

          Actually, the kitchen had run out of baked potato and asparagus, so I substituted caesar salad. I had to send it back because it was horrible. So all I had on my plate was a hunk of meat. I should have taken a photo of that. Ha ha! Concerning street people, I agree. Privilege guilt is an apt term. Supposedly Lethbridge, Alberta has found a solution to homelessness in their city.

          Liked by 1 person

  5. Denis1950 says:

    Wonderful haiku and great connections through to the images Olga

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    These pictures are great, Olga! Love the poem very mucy too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Olga says:

      Many thanks, Mary. Good to hear from you.
      If you wouldn’t mind checking your spam folder because I made a comment on your last post and it disappeared. I’ve been having problems with WP for a few months.

      Like

  7. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    Sure, I’ll check. Btw, I loved your poem very “much,” not “mucy” hahaha!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hello Olga, your haiku is meaningful and touching. I loved it. The pictures told the same story––brilliant.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Lindy Le Coq says:

    Truly stunning — so few words saying so much when composed with the photographs. Excellent!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Olga says:

      Happy that you enjoyed my post. Thanks for the lovely comment, Lindy 🙂
      When being a tourist in a spectacular city like Ottawa, it’s hard not to feel for those who display the face of poverty. 😦

      Like

    • Olga says:

      Hi Lindy. I sent a comment to you on the last post and it disappeared into your spam folder. Could you check please. I’ve been having problems with WP for a long time. Thanks! 🙂

      Like

  10. That fellow just makes me feel sad. It’s really sad that people should end up this way and almost hopeless.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. This was beautiful. The pictures added more meaning to it and completed with the compliment. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. magarisa says:

    Such a meaningful, thought-provoking haiku. Superb use of the prompt words!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment